a short post about sacrifice

sacrifice

Over the past few weeks, Fate has often been reminding me about the amount of sacrifice involved in the life of a dancer. Not that I’d had any doubts before; sometimes I just like to think of myself as being exempt from the rules. Regardless, I’ve had to make some decisions lately that were less than enjoyable.

A lot of people say that children who want to make careers out of ballet don’t have enough “fun” or they simply don’t have childhoods at all. I’ve had my fair share of sleepovers and trips to the movies (see this post and this one) not at the expense of my dance training, maybe even more than most. But as I grow closer and closer to my nearest goal, I’ve had to say goodbye to some things I would have been doing otherwise.

I had to give up modeling. For the entire season, maybe forever. It was causing schedule conflict with ballet and, much to my close friend and fellow model Jasmine’s disappointment, I had to resign. I was also unable to make it to two recent sixteenth birthday parties because of dance. Which I felt bad about.

But you know what? I wouldn’t have it any other way.

My friends understand that for me going to dance class is just as important as going to school. Ballet is what I love, and I don’t believe it’s compromising my childhood; just the opposite, really. I can’t imagine a life without dance. I wish everyone had something so pure and steadfast to be a part of… I feel very lucky. Dance is my bridge to take me places, and eventually, London. I’m getting closer every day. The time and the effort and the sacrifice just continue to validate me.

It’s a really nice feeling.

— Bethany.

Leave a Reply

